Phil Stacey – “If You Didn’t Love Me”

Phil

 

 

 

 

 

While watching American Idol last year one singer immediately grabbed me.  Phil Stacey was the singer and I immediately felt that he was a candidate to get signed to a recording contract by one of Nashville’s many labels.  Phil managed to make it pretty far into the competition.  On the show he sang songs ‘country’ to the point that he, like fellow bald AI alum Chris Daughtry, was pegged as a guy who knew who he was.  Thus, he probably wasn’t going to need to win to get the record deal.  Those thoughts were right and Lyric Street records, home to former AI contestants Josh Gracin and Bucky Covington, quickly agreed to a deal with Stacey.  He entered the studio with Wayne Kirkpatrick and recorded a song that was co-written by Rascal Flatts’ Gary LeVox.  If You Didn’t Love Me” is the song and it is the kind of song I expected to from Phil.   A ‘tempo’ ballad that is unsurprisingly similar to some of Rascal Flatts’ songs, given the co-write by Levox, I don’t see how this song won’t be ‘loved’ by radio.  People who’ve liked the songs from Rascal Flatts will probably enjoy this song more due to Stacey’s more appealing vocals.  He has a voice that is husky and rich and at times recalls Heath Wright from Ricochet.  As far as debut singles go, this one’s a keeper.  In fact, it might be the best debut country single from a male American Idol participant.

 Listen here: If You Didn’t Love Me (requires real player)

7 responses to “Phil Stacey – “If You Didn’t Love Me”

  1. I really enjoyed Phil on ai last year. From the very beginning his vocals and kind, generous personality really impressed me. His voice is absolutely beautiful. I don’t usually listen to country, but I will make an exception. And I like the first single “If You Didn’t Love Me” very much. I hope and pray the best for Phil and his family. He’s a great singer and person.

  2. Phil is a great guy who deserves to do well! He has a beautiful voice. I can’t wait to hear his full CD when it releases.

  3. Phil was my favorite from AI last year and I am glad to see his early success. Like you, I hear a rich tone to Phil’s vocals and like the single. I am looking forward to hearing more from him.

  4. I have to agree with those who posted above. Phil has got an awesome voice. He was also my favorite, and I can’t wait to see how far he makes it. I love his single, too.

  5. Matt – I just wanted to give some love. I know you were feeling left out of the “Phil Stacey Wars” over on Country universe and The 9513. 😉

  6. Peter,

    Thanks. I mainly commented over at Country Universe about it because I was dumbfounded that some fans won’t comment on something unless it is ‘negative.’ I am rarely that negative about any music, except maybe some rap/death metal.

  7. Random comment.
    I’m always interested in seeing what Wayne Kirkpatrick works on. I really enjoy his own CD, “Maple Room, which features the original version of “Wrapped Up In You.” I’ve also enjoyed a lot of Michael W. Smith stuff. So, it’s cool that he has come over to country music these days.

Leave a Reply

